Call my agent

I announced this elsewhere several days ago, so it’s high time I said it here: I have signed with an agent. Rena Rossner of The Deborah Harris Agency thinks Dark and Deep stands a chance with major publishers, so we have taken all the Settlement books off Amazon. I am revising D&D at her request, and when she feels it’s ready, she will start to submit it.

First off, I’d like to say that Rena is a very special agent, and a very humane one. I am bowled over to have signed with her and so grateful for the way things are turning out–even if D&D doesn’t sell.

I know a lot of my readers are authors themselves, and I’m afraid I have no good advice to give you about finishing a book/signing with an agent/getting published. As with so many things in life, I somehow stumbled into this fortune by doing everything wrong.

And maybe that’s my message. Writers’ resources, especially the ones where a lot of people form an echo chamber, and especially the ones trying to sell their advice, will give you long lists of “mistakes” and “things to avoid” and “musts”. At the time I submitted to Rena I had not, bless my heart, read any of them, and she signed me anyway. You can’t let fear cow you into inaction. Remember the pilot episode of Sex and the City? Remember Carrie describing Samantha? “The kind of deluded self-confidence that made Ross Perot run for president”? That. That’s what you really need.

So take heart in your own work, finish what you start, keep an eye on the thin line between polishing and knob-polishing, put your work out there, and start the next thing. An agent who will reject you based on a query letter wasn’t the right agent for you anyway.

2 thoughts on “Call my agent

  1. Hallelujah – so happy you have someone else to do some of the leg work, like organizing and publicizing. I’ve long felt your books belong in the mainstream, not just the world of on-line publishing, and I’m glad you have a professional in your corner now, as well as your satisfied readers. Keep us all posted.

    • Most important of all, Rena has contacts and insight into the industry. Thank you so much for your support, Pippa. It means everything.

Leave a Reply

