Sail away

I have a prototypically feminine mind. Or maybe I’m a hobbit. Either way, most of my daydreams are domestic. Knitting socks. Baking pies. Hanging curtains. Those are the things that interest me.

But when a historic 130-foot schooner docks nearby, and my husband and I stumble across it on a late-night stroll after an extremely nice dinner, and we have it all to ourselves at the end of the dock, with the waves lapping the rocky beach and a pair of contented sailors chatting somewhere on deck … when I look up and up and up those enormous wooden masts … some part of me understands the thirst for adventure.

And comes back in daylight to take pictures.

s016

s019

s021

s024

Fun fact: this schooner is 133 feet long. Christopher Columbus’ Santa Maria was 58 feet long.

One thought on “Sail away

Leave a Reply

