Last day

Last day at the old home. Tomorrow we load up.

moving1

Go west, pioneer. Oregon Trail. All that.

moving2

Say goodbye to the oak groves, the fireflies of summer, and ev’rything that I know (apologies to Tom Waits)

moving3

This is not my house
These are not my closets and cabinets and drawers
My things don’t live here anymore
And neither do I

moving4

No cooking. No relaxing. Everything is boxed and stacked. My husband and I shuffle past each other like uneasy haunts.

moving5

Our daughter, though. She is stoked.

moving6

2 thoughts on “Last day

  1. May your journey be full of sights and sounds that tickle your imagination. May your tires always stay inflated, and a roadhouse with good food appear whenever you really need it. And may your sorrow at losing your old home be soon forgotten in the joy of your new one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

