Before I Sleep: epigraph

Only 30K words into this one, but as I said in the previous post, I know what the great gaping hole is. I have an abyss. I have what E. M. Forster called “the mountain that the story must go through.”

And I have the epigraph.

In middle of the journey of our days
I found that I was in a darksome wood—
The right road lost and vanished in the maze.
Ah me! how hard to make it understood
How rough that wood was, wild, and terrible:
By the mere thought my terror is renewed.
More bitter scarce were death.

–Dante Alighieri, The Inferno

2 thoughts on “Before I Sleep: epigraph

Leave a Reply

