Fun with Scottish slang

Outlander might spell out a lot of 18th century Scottish usage, but that didn’t do me any good when writing mid-21st-century Scots of my own. BeautyCreep, on the other hand, did. This video is twenty minutes long but pretty well got me started.

In places where my Scottish vernacular isn’t quite right, well. Let me remind you that my settlers were transported in 2059. Language changes.

Oh, and also, the Scottish Vernacular Dictionary. Alex is going to drop The Ultimate Scottish Swear Word in book 2. I know some people had problems with the language! in book 1, so be warned.

Leave a Reply

