At Powells

I am back from a vacation to Portlandia. Oh my, what a lovely place it is. The weather cooperated perfectly. Every day was sunny and mild. We left our hotel room’s window open the whole week. Rain? Clouds? Not that we saw. And oh, those Pacific Northwest forests…

Of course we went to Powells. I took two pictures of two important shelves to share with you.

067

First, the shelf of blacksmithing books in Powells 2. I was thinking of you, buddy.

065

Second, the shelf of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander books. I have read a lot of novels in my life–18th, 19th, 20th, and 21st century, British, American, French, Russian, South American, the Victorian triple-deckers, the Romantic moralists, the numinous Edwardians, the Booker prizewinners and the magical realists. None of them grabbed my imagination the way Outlander has.

In fact, I wrote Dark and Deep as a way to come down from the Outlander books. Romance? Adventure? Roughing it? A very large Scottish hero? All boxes checked!

Leave a Reply

